Skip To Main Content

Menu Trigger Container

Location

Container

Menu Trigger Container

I Want To

Horizontal Nav

Breadcrumb

Theatre

The Adams Family

Spring Musical

14 The Musical

Six photos of student performing
Winter Theater Performance

Calendar

February 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jan 28
Mon, Jan 29
Tue, Jan 30
Wed, Jan 31
Thu, Feb 1
Fri, Feb 2
Sat, Feb 3
Sun, Feb 4
Mon, Feb 5
Tue, Feb 6
Wed, Feb 7
Thu, Feb 8
Fri, Feb 9
Sat, Feb 10
Sun, Feb 11
Mon, Feb 12
Tue, Feb 13
Wed, Feb 14
Thu, Feb 15
Fri, Feb 16
Sat, Feb 17
Sun, Feb 18
Mon, Feb 19
Tue, Feb 20
Wed, Feb 21
Thu, Feb 22
Fri, Feb 23
Sat, Feb 24
Sun, Feb 25
Mon, Feb 26
Tue, Feb 27
Wed, Feb 28
Thu, Feb 29
Fri, Mar 1
Sat, Mar 2

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Madera Master Calendar
  • DELAC
  • My School's Activity Calendar
  • Simi Valley Major Events
  • Simi Institute Calendar of Events
  • Apollo High School Events
  • Arroyo Events Calendar
  • Arroyo Events Calendar
  • Berylwood Public Calendar
  • Crestview Calendar 2023-2024
  • Upcoming Events
  • Hollow Hills Parent Calendar
  • Knolls Calendar
  • Monte Vista Master Calendar
  • Mountain View School Events
  • Park View Master Calendar
  • Royal Academics
  • Royal Activities
  • Royal Arts
  • Royal Athletics
  • Royal Athletics-Home Contests
  • Royal Club Meetings
  • Santa Susana Elementary Website Calendar
  • College and Career Events
  • SSHS Master Calendar
  • Simi Valley HS Athletics
  • SVHS Academics
  • SVHS Activities
  • SVHS Arts
  • SVHS Athletics
  • SVHS Clubs
  • SVHS Counseling
  • Vikings Master Calendar
  • Test Calendar

The Performing Arts Pathway at Royal High School is part of the Arts, Media & Entertainment Career Education Program. This project-based Performing Arts pathway prepares students in the performance and technical aspects of theater via direct instruction, activities, and both in-class and schoolwide performances. Students understand the technical aspects of professionals in lighting, sound, costuming, and make-up. They write dialogues and scenes while applying basic dramatic structure. Students observe, deconstruct and analyze peer and professional performances while acting, singing, and dancing in formal and informal theater. They collaborate as producers, designers, technicians, and actors. Last, students create a career plan in the performance disciplines.

What opportunities are available for students outside of the classroom?

Royal theater students participate in extracurricular activities outside of the classroom. 

Each year, Royal High School students perform in the annual Spring Musical. Musical Theater includes ALL students. Students may or may not have had theater, vocal music, or choreographic experience. This past year, students performed 14 - The Musical which included works from Shrek and Six. In years prior, The Adams Family and Little Shop of Horrors were brilliantly performed on stage.

Careers

California's creative economy generated $604.9 billion in 2018. Well rounded industry professions, and those in the highest paying jobs, have experience both on stage and behind the scenes. They are well versed in all aspects of theater. The Employment Development Department expects a decline in the need for professional actors in the upcoming ten years. Other high paying industry careers are increasing significantly. Annual incomes for these careers include

  • Makeup Artists, Theatrical and Performance $97,805
  • Postsecondary Art, Drama and Music Teachers $101,072
  • Producers and Directors $101,154
  • Broadcast Technicians $40,286

Almost Maine

Five photos show student performing in Almost Maine

Little Shop of Horrors

Seymore and Audrey talk before the big Audrey II, man eating plant.

news

Why certify in Theater?

As part of Royal's CTE Pathways, seniors earn distinction at graduation by completing a minimum of 20 credits in the following courses with grades of "C's" or higher.

Theater 1

Theater 2